Mayor Kevin Keane

Mayor Kevin Keane – is serving his third two-year term as mayor.  Kevin has served as a City Councilperson for several years and has also served on the Planning Commission and Zoning Board of Appeals.  After several years of service on those boards, Kevin was appointed to chair each of these entities.

While the mayor’s office carries a great deal of responsibility, there are also many enjoyable aspects of the position.  For instance, the mayor is called upon to speak on many topics to our young people in their school settings, and to local community groups and organizations; the mayor has the privilege of presenting proclamations recognizing the achievements of young and old alike; the mayor also has the legal authority to perform marriage ceremonies. The mayor has an equal voice and vote in the proceedings of the Council, but shall have no veto power.

The City Council, has all municipal legislative powers as conferred by the laws of the State of Michigan, except as provided by the Charter of the City of Flushing and except those which may be exercised by the people through direct legislation.  The Council also has the power and authority, within constitutional limitations, to delegate by ordinance to Boards and Commissions such functions, powers, or authority conferred upon the City as the Council shall deem proper and advisable within its discretion.

Terms of Council members begin on the first Monday following the election.  A general municipal election is held every two years, with council members being elected for four year terms.  The Mayor is elected for a two year term.  At each general municipal election, the voters elect three members to serve as City Councilpersons, plus a Mayor, unless additional members are to be elected to fill a vacancy.  The City of Flushing has 4 District Councilpersons and two (2) At Large Councilperson representatives. In addition to the Mayor, the following individuals currently serve on the City Council.


Councilperson George Gray

George Gray – Elected in November 20015, George Richard Gray is a retired education who taught  at Grand Blanc Community Schools and worked as a building principal in the Bentley, Utica, Oxford, Alma and Westwood Heights school districts over a 35 year career. In addition to representing District I, he also serves as the City of Flushing delegate to the Genesee County Metropolitan Alliance. George and his wife Peggy have lived in the Flushing community for the past fifteen years and reside at 212 Chestnut Street. George may be reached at ggrayflushingcc@yahoo.com and at 810-280-3583.



Councilperson Karianne Martus

Karianne Martus – is serving her third term on city council as a result of the 2009, 2013 and 2017 elections.  Karianne has served on the Flushing City Planning Commission from January 2008 through October 2009.  She has also served as Mentor to the Flushing Youth Council.



Mayor Pro-Tem Richard Bade

Richard Bade has served the city on several boards, commissions and committees.   Most recently, he has served on the Planning Commission for over two years after serving on the City Council for over eight years. 


Councilperson David Detman


David Detman is serving his first term on City Council as a result of the 2015 November election. He is past President of Chapter 77 of the Experimental Aircraft Association based at Dalton Airport. He has helped with the construction of the new pavilion along the Riverview Trail and several other fundraising events for the Flushing Riverview Trail. He is currently restoring the old Firehouse on Maple St. 


Councilperson John Gault

John Gault is serving his sixth – four (4) year term as an At-Large Councilperson.  He was elected in 1995, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2011 and 2015. John was appointed by the Mayor to serve as the City Council liaison to the Flushing Planning Commission. John is very involved with the Friends of the Riverview Trail Committee and has contributed substantial amounts of time and money to insure the future of the trail.



Councilperson Lynne Black

Lynne Black is serving her first – four (4) year term as an At-Large Councilperson.  She was elected in 2017. Prior to running for Council, Lynne served on the Flushing Planning Commission.